TOP
 >> What's on today: February 13, 2019 (Wed)

What's on today: February 13, 2019 (Wed)

Special Exhibition

Unrivaled Calligraphy: Yan Zhenqing and His Legacy

Heiseikan Special Exhibition Galleries  January 16, 2019 (Wed)-February 24, 2019 (Sun)

During the Tang dynasty of China (618–907), three great calligraphers–Ouyang Xun, Yu Shinan, and Chu Suiliang–perfected the style known as "standard script." While inheriting the tradition they established, Yan Zhenqing (709–785) succeeded in establishing his own style of calligraphy, which would have tremendous influence for ages to come. Bringing together exquisite works from collections in Japan and abroad, this exhibition will explore Yan Zhenqing and his work, its influence on future generations, and its reception in Japan.

Regular Exhibition
Thematic Exhibition
Honkan Room 14  February 5, 2019 (Tue)-March 17, 2019 (Sun)
Honkan Room T1 & T2  January 29, 2019 (Tue)-March 31, 2019 (Sun)
Kuroda Memorial Hall Kuroda Memorial Room  January 22, 2019 (Tue)-April 14, 2019 (Sun)
Toyokan Room 5  January 2, 2019 (Wed)-April 21, 2019 (Sun)
Toyokan Room 8  January 2, 2019 (Wed)-March 3, 2019 (Sun)
Event
Workshops
Honkan (2F) Lounge February 5, 2019 (Tue) - February 24, 2019 (Sun)  11:00–16:30 RESERVE_DAY
TNM & TOPPAN MUSEUM THEATER
Toyokan TNM&TOPPAN Museum Theater January 2, 2019 (Wed) - March 24, 2019 (Sun)  (Every Wed,Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun,holiday) (Wed, Thu, Fri): 12:00, 13:00, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00
(Sat, Sun, Holidays): 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 
*Admission starts 5minites prior to screening.
*You may not enter mid-way through the program. RESERVE_DAY
Calendar
Click for exhibitions and events for the day.
Open until 17:00
Open until 18:00
Open until 21:00
Special Hours
Closed