TOP
 >> Events
 >> Past Gallery Talks

Past Gallery Talks

Curator take you to exhibits and present gallery talks.

Lectures are in Japanese only.

2017

Guides to Artworks Featuring Cherry Blossoms

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
April 5, 2017 (Wed) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Cherry Blossom Designs on Ceramic Works

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
April 7, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Conservation and Restoration: First-hand Reports on the Restoration of Three-dimensional Artworks

Heiseikan-Thematic Exhibition Room
April 11, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Introduction to Conservation and Restoration

Heiseikan-Thematic Exhibition Room
April 14, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The Modern Tea Practitioner, Matsunaga Jian, and Buddhist Paintings

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
April 25, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Buddhist Images in China's Caves

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-TNM & TOPPAN Museum Theater
May 9, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Reiunji Temple and Its Founder, Jogon

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T2
May 16, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Special Introduction Commemorating International Museum Day “Welcome to the TNM”

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
May 18, 2017 (Thu)
   

The Charm of Masked Performing Arts: Bugaku and Gyodo Masks

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 14
May 23, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

How to Search for Exhibition Information

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
May 30, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

An Introduction to the “Forty-eight Buddhist Deities” at the Tokyo National Museum

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-TNM & TOPPAN Museum Theater
June 16, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The Wind God and Thunder God Screens by Ogata Korin

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
June 20, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Indonesian Wayang Puppet Theater

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 13
June 27, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Haniwa Tomb Figurines of Women in the Kofun Period

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
July 11, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Cormorant Fishing by Kano Tan'yu

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 7
July 14, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Ancient Glass Vessels of the Eastern Mediterranean

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-TNM & TOPPAN Museum Theater
July 21, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The White Tiger Revives from the Asuka Period

The Gallery of Horyuji Treasures-Room 6
August 4, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Calligraphers Enchanted by Ancient Epigraphy

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 8
August 22, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Art of Konoe Nobutada, one of the Three Master Calligraphers of the Early Edo Period

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T1
August 29, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The History of Ukiyo-e

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 10
September 26, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Compilation of Japanese Art History in the Meiji Period

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 15
October 3, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Ink Landscape Paintings of the Medieval Era

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
October 13, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Before Unkei: Buddhist Sculptures of the Late Heian Period

Heiseikan-Auditorium
October 31, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Gallery Talk

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
November 3, 2017 (Fri) 12:00 - 12:30  
   

Choe Chung-heon, Hero of Goryeo

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 10
November 14, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Masterpieces Masterpieces of Chinese Calligraphy and Painting: Appreciation in Japan

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 8
November 28, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Jomon Pottery Vessels and their Travels

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
December 5, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Let's Volunteer at the Museum

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
December 19, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

New Year's Celebration at the Tokyo National Museum: The New Year with Dogs

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T1
January 12, 2018 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Wu Changshuo and his Time: 90 years from Kutie's death

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 8
January 16, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Hokkaido after the Jomon Period

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeology Gallery
January 23, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Horyuji Treasures and Textiles in Paintings

The Gallery of Horyuji Treasures-Room 6
January 30, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Haniwa of Wakayama Prefecture: Objects Excavated from Dainichiyama No. 35 Tumulus

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
February 6, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Nuji Crossbow Mechanisms from the Han Dynasty

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 5
February 20, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Ancient Egyptian Artifacts Excavated from Tell el-Amarna

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 3
February 27, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Hina Dolls of Edo

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 14
March 2, 2018 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Restoration of Cultural Properties at the Tokyo National Museum: What We Have Achieved and the Challenges Ahead

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T1
March 13, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Restoration of Textiles from the Shosoin Repository, Nara

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T1
March 20, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Highlights of Artworks Associated with Cherry Blossoms

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
March 23, 2018 (Fri) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

X-ray CT Scanners for Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Properties

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
March 27, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Highlights of Artworks Associated with Cherry Blossoms

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
March 28, 2018 (Wed) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Classical Fragrance of Spring

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
March 30, 2018 (Fri) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Page Top