TOP
 >> Education
 >> Past Public Programs

Past Public Programs

Lectures on topics related to the exhibits and explanations of displays by our curators, events, guided tours led by museum volunteers, workshops and other activities are offered as a way to enhance the museum experience. Some programs require advance registration.

This page will show results when programs are available in English.

Please note that most of our programs and events are available in Japanese only. Please refer to the Japanese page for details.
 

 

2018

First-hand Reports on the Restoration of Three-dimensional Artworks

Honkan-Room T1
April 3, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Appreciating the Folding Screens Merrymaking under Blossom Trees (National Treasure)

Honkan-B1 Education Room
April 4, 2018 (Wed) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Paintings Featuring Cherry Blossoms

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 7, 2018 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Experience Japanese Culture: Try on a Kimono

Honkan-Room T4
March 27, 2018 (Tue) - April 8, 2018 (Sun) 11:00~16:30
   

Invitation to Appreciating Japanese Art

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 14, 2018 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Exhibition Design for Family Galleries

Heiseikan-Thematic Exhibition Room
April 17, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Lineage of Works by Sesshu and Jakuchu

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 21, 2018 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Deciphering the Collection of Horyuji Treasures

The Gallery of Horyuji Treasures-Room 6
April 24, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Koyagire Segment and the Beauty of Kana Calligraphy

Honkan-Room T1
May 8, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

International Museum Day Event: Introduction to the Tokyo National Museum

Honkan-B1 Education Room
May 18, 2018 (Fri)
   

The Writings of Chief Director Mori Ogai

Heiseikan-Auditorium
May 19, 2018 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

The Artistic Choices of Raku Jokei

Honkan-Room 13
May 22, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Stone Buddhas of China

Toyokan-TNM&TOPPAN Museum Theater
May 29, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Beauty of Hiragana Calligraphy: Koya-gire Segments

Heiseikan-Auditorium
June 9, 2018 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Experience Japanese Culture: Calligraphy Workshop

Honkan-(2F) Lounge
May 22, 2018 (Tue) - June 10, 2018 (Sun) 11:00 - 16:30  
   

Buddhist Paintings Associated with the Prajnaparamita Sutra

Honkan-Room 3
June 19, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Let's Observe LED Light at the Museum

Honkan-B1 Education Room
June 26, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Museum's Collection of Chinese Ceramics: Its History and Recent Acquisitions

Toyokan-Room 5
July 3, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Standing Jizo Bosatsu (Ksitigarbha) of Joruriji Temple, Kyoto

Honkan-Room 3
July 10, 2018 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Buddhist Sculpture of the Edo Period in Comparison with Sculpture of the Modern Era

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 14, 2018 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Japan's Ancient State: Its History Unveiled by Changes in Roof Tiles

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
July 20, 2018 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Jomon, Japanese Art, and the Artist Okamoto Taro

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 22, 2018 (Sun) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Enjoying the Beauty of the Jomon Period

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 28, 2018 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

A Story of a Zen Monk Depicted

Honkan-B1 Education Room
August 10, 2018 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

A Lecture for Children Who Came to Like Art

Heiseikan-Auditorium
August 18, 2018 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00