TOP
 >> Education
 >> Past Public Programs

Past Public Programs

Lectures on topics related to the exhibits and explanations of displays by our curators, events, guided tours led by museum volunteers, workshops and other activities are offered as a way to enhance the museum experience. Some programs require advance registration.

This page will show results when programs are available in English.

Please note that most of our programs and events are available in Japanese only. Please refer to the Japanese page for details.
 

 

2019

Cherry Blossoms Depicted in Japanese Paintings

Honkan-Room 7 & 8
April 2, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Highlights of Merrymaking under Blossom Trees (National Treasure)

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 6, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Commemorative performance: Shingon Buddhist Chanting at To-ji Temple

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 10, 2019 (Wed) 11:00–12:00, 14:00–15:00
   

Commemorative performance: Shingon Buddhist Chanting at To-ji Temple

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 17, 2019 (Wed) 11:00–12:00, 14:00–15:00
   

Mirror with Deity and Animal Design Created in Jian'an 21

Toyokan-Room 5
April 19, 2019 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Commemorative Lecture: The History of To-ji Temple and Shingon Esoteric Buddhist Treasures

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 27, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Commemorative Lecture: To-ji Temple and the Sculpture Mandala

Heiseikan-Auditorium
May 11, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

International Museum Day Event: Introduction to the Tokyo National Museum

Honkan-B1 Education Room
May 18, 2019 (Sat) 11:00 - 11:30
15:30 - 16:00
   

Esoteric Buddhist Sculptures

Heiseikan-Auditorium
May 25, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Unveiling the Mystery of the Jar with Human Face Ornament: Prayers of the Yayoi People

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeology Gallery
May 28, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Introduction to Decorated Tumuli

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeology Gallery
May 31, 2019 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The Dragon King Nanda Statue at Hasedera Temple in Nara

Honkan-Room 11
June 18, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Japanese Armor

Heiseikan-Auditorium
June 22, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Picture Perfect: A Closer Look at Museums and Photography

Honkan-B1 Education Room
June 28, 2019 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Okinawan Ceramics from the Tokyo National Museum Collection

Honkan-Room 14
July 2, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Commemorative Lecture① "Three Kingdoms: A Truthful Interpretation"

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 13, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

The Three Kingdoms Period: Highlights from the Toyokan

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 20, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Yamatai-period Pottery (ca. 3rd century)

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
July 23, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Commemorative Lecture② "The State of Yamatai Re-explored in Association with the Three Kingdoms"

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 27, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Japanese Armor!

Honkan-Room T2
August 6, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Art and Crafts of the Ainu

Honkan-Room 16
August 9, 2019 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The Magnitude of Early Jomon Vessels

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeology Gallery
August 20, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Monju Bodhisattva and the Art of the Kasuga Subsidiary Shrine Wakamiya

Heiseikan-Auditorium
August 24, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

The Life and Art of Takeda Nobukado, Takeda Shingen's Younger Brother

Honkan-B1 Education Room
September 3, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Representation of Love in Asian Art

Heiseikan-Auditorium
September 28, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

The Aesthetics of Unglazed Tea Bowls

Heiseikan-Auditorium
October 5, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

New Life for Timeless Art: Perspectives from the Front Lines of Cultural-property Conservation

Heiseikan-Auditorium
October 19, 2019 (Sat) 13:00 - 17:30  
   

Commemorative Lecture "Passing on the Imperial Treasures of the Shosoin"

Heiseikan-Auditorium
October 20, 2019 (Sun) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Experience Japanese Culture: Calligraphy Workshop

Honkan-Lounge (2F)
October 8, 2019 (Tue) - October 20, 2019 (Sun) 11:00 - 16:30  
   

The World of the Heike Nōkyō Sutra (copy)

Honkan-Room 15
October 29, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Illustrated Biography of Prince Shōtoku (National Treasure)

The Gallery of Horyuji Treasures-Room 6
November 1, 2019 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The Chinese Pictorial Themes and the Living Space of Japanese Zen Monks【in Chinese】

Honkan-Room 3
November 3, 2019 (Sun) 11:00 - 11:30  
   

Journey through the Floating World【in English】

Honkan-Room 10
November 3, 2019 (Sun) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Wearing Kimono Workshop

Honkan-B1 Education Room
November 3, 2019 (Sun) (1) 11:00-12:20(Registration: 10:30 ~ 11:00), (2) 15:30-16:50(Registration: 15:00 ~ 15:30)
   

Ancient Crafts from Asia and the Middle East

Toyokan-Room 3
November 12, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Commemorative Lecture "The Latest Research on the Imperial Treasures of the Shosoin"

Heiseikan-Auditorium
November 17, 2019 (Sun) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Preserving and Restoring Japanese Wooden Sculptures

Honkan-Room T5
November 19, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Things You Should Know Before Becoming a Volunteer

Honkan-B1 Education Room
November 26, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Eurasian Exchange in Edo-Period Art

Heiseikan-Auditorium
November 30, 2019 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Ancient Buddhist Banners from the Shōsōin Temple Repository

Honkan-B1 Education Room
December 3, 2019 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30