TOP
 >> Events
 >> Past Gallery Talks

Past Gallery Talks

Curator take you to exhibits and present gallery talks.

Lectures are in Japanese only.

2016

Cherry Blossom Designs Found in Daily Life in Japan [Cherry Blossom Gallery Talk]

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
April 6, 2016 (Wed) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Conservation and Restoration: First-hand Reports on the Restoration of Paintings

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T1
April 12, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Appreciating "Goddess of the Jomon Period" in a New Light

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T4
April 15, 2016 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Restoration of Decorative Art and Archaeological Objects

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T1
April 19, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Evolution of Seal and Clerical Scripts

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 8
April 26, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Introduction to the Charm of Gilt-bronze Buddhist Statues

The Gallery of Horyuji Treasures-Room 2
May 13, 2016 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Reproduced Statue: Standing Sho-kannon Bosatsu (Arya Avalokitesvara)

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 1
May 17, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Works with Cloisonné Enamel Decoration in the TNM Collection

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 14
May 31, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Clay Tablets with Sutra Inscriptions Excavated from Sutra Mounds

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
June 7, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Interactions between Japan and Italy in Connection with the Portrait of Ito Mancio

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
June 28, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Medieval Japanese Painting and Su Shi

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
July 5, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Patterned Bricks from Baekje

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 10
July 12, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Kaibozuka-tumulus Style Sue Stoneware

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
July 26, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Metalware Excavated from the Kaibozuka Tumulus

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
August 9, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Tomb Guardian Animals of China: From the Western Jin to the Tang

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-TNM & TOPPAN Museum Theater
August 23, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Three Master Calligraphers and the Reverence of Fujiwara no Kozei

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room T1
August 30, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Stone Tools of the Jomon Period

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
September 6, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Beauty of Ancient Cyprus

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 3
September 13, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Looking Up Art Information

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
October 18, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

New Depictions of Samantabhadra in Medieval Japanese Art

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
October 25, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Eight Sceneries of Xiao and Xiang by Hasegawa Tohaku

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 7
November 1, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Wayang Puppet Theater of Indonesia

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 13
November 15, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Your First Time at Tokyo National Museum

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
November 18, 2016 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Depictions of the Immortal Poets: Their Origins and Popularity

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
November 22, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Lives on the Southern Islands

Heiseikan-Thematic Exhibition Room
December 6, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Cultures Associated with Tumuli in the Eastern Area of the Chugoku Region

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
December 13, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Surveys on Cultural Properties during the Decades from 1887

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 15
December 20, 2016 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Buddhist Ritual Canopies Made of Ancient Textiles

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-TNM & TOPPAN Museum Theater
January 17, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Dong Qichang and Artworks of the Late Ming and Early Qing Dynasty

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 8
January 24, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Ceramic Shards: Celadons from China's Tang and Song Dynasties

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-Room 5
January 27, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Introduction to Volunteer Activities at TNM

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
January 31, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Faith Surrounding the Seated Nyoirin Kannon Bosatsu (Cintamanicakra)

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 11
February 14, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Splendor of Gold and Silver: Must-see Treasures from Horyuji Temple

The Gallery of Horyuji Treasures-Room 1
February 17, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The Angel That Traveled to the East

Asian Gallery (Toyokan)-TNM & TOPPAN Museum Theater
February 28, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Charm of Natural History Albums

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 15
March 7, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Scents of Spring

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
March 16, 2017 (Thu) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Guides to Artworks Featuring Cherry Blossoms

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
March 22, 2017 (Wed) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Thematic Exhibition: Conservation and Restoration of the Tokyo National Museum Collection

Heiseikan-Thematic Exhibition Room
March 24, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Conservation and Restoration: First-hand Reports on the Restoration of Paintings

Heiseikan-Thematic Exhibition Room
March 28, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Cherry Blossoms Depicted on Folding Screens

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-Room 7
March 29, 2017 (Wed) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Guides to Artworks Featuring Cherry Blossoms

Japanese Gallery (Honkan)-B1 Education Room
March 31, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Page Top