TOP
 >> Education
 >> Past Public Programs

Past Public Programs

Lectures on topics related to the exhibits and explanations of displays by our curators, events, guided tours led by museum volunteers, workshops and other activities are offered as a way to enhance the museum experience. Some programs require advance registration.

This page will show results when programs are available in English.

Please note that most of our programs and events are available in Japanese only. Please refer to the Japanese page for details.
 

 

2017

Guides to Artworks Featuring Cherry Blossoms

Honkan-B1 Education Room
April 5, 2017 (Wed) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Cherry Blossom Designs on Ceramic Works

Honkan-B1 Education Room
April 7, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The Beauty and Soul of Cherry Blossom Paintings

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 8, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Conservation and Restoration: First-hand Reports on the Restoration of Three-dimensional Artworks

Heiseikan-Thematic Exhibition Room
April 11, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Introduction to Conservation and Restoration

Heiseikan-Thematic Exhibition Room
April 14, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Momoyama Ceramics: Japanese-style Tea Bowls from the Late 16th Century

Heiseikan-Auditorium
April 15, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

The Modern Tea Practitioner, Matsunaga Jian, and Buddhist Paintings

Honkan-B1 Education Room
April 25, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Buddhist Images in China's Caves

Toyokan-TNM&TOPPAN Museum Theater
May 9, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Charm of Chanoyu: Ceramics of Japan, the Korean Peninsula, and China

Heiseikan-Auditorium
May 13, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Reiunji Temple and Its Founder, Jogon

Honkan-Room T2
May 16, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Symposium - Discussing the Tea Ceremony: People and Objects

Heiseikan-Auditorium
May 21, 2017 (Sun) 13:30 - 16:00  
   

The Charm of Masked Performing Arts: Bugaku and Gyodo Masks

Honkan-Room 14
May 23, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Family Gallery "So Many Roosters and Birds in One Place!"

Heiseikan-Auditorium
May 27, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

How to Search for Exhibition Information

Honkan-B1 Education Room
May 30, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The World of the Bible Revealed through Archaeology

Heiseikan-Auditorium
June 10, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

An Introduction to the “Forty-eight Buddhist Deities” at the Tokyo National Museum

Toyokan-TNM&TOPPAN Museum Theater
June 16, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

The Wind God and Thunder God Screens by Ogata Korin

Honkan-B1 Education Room
June 20, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Indonesian Wayang Puppet Theater

Toyokan-Room 13
June 27, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Experience Japanese Culture: Calligraphy Workshop

Honkan-Lounge (2F)
June 9, 2017 (Fri) - July 2, 2017 (Sun) Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays: 11:00–16:30, Fridays and Saturdays: 15:00–20:30
   

Talk Show with Miura Jun and Ito Seiko, PR Ambassadors for Thailand, Brilliant Land of the Buddha

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 7, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:20  
   

Haniwa Tomb Figurines of Women in the Kofun Period

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
July 11, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Cormorant Fishing by Kano Tan'yu

Honkan-Room 7
July 14, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

International Symposium - Thailand: Its Buddhist Art and Monarchy

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 15, 2017 (Sat) 10:00 - 16:00  
   

Ancient Glass Vessels of the Eastern Mediterranean

Toyokan-TNM&TOPPAN Museum Theater
July 21, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Ritual Stone Implements of the Kofun Period

Heiseikan-Auditorium
July 29, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

The White Tiger Revives from the Asuka Period

The Gallery of Horyuji Treasures-Room 6
August 4, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

A Journey through Time in the Land of the Buddha

Heiseikan-Auditorium
August 5, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Thai Dance Experience Workshop

Heiseikan-Auditorium
August 11, 2017 (Fri) 14:00 - 15:00  
   

The Biography of Prince Shotoku and the Horyuji Treasures

Heiseikan-Auditorium
August 12, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Calligraphers Enchanted by Ancient Epigraphy

Toyokan-Room 8
August 22, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Art of Konoe Nobutada, one of the Three Master Calligraphers of the Early Edo Period

Honkan-Room T1
August 29, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The History of Ukiyo-e

Honkan-Room 10
September 26, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Three-colored Glaze Sancai Ceramics of Tang China

Heiseikan-Auditorium
September 30, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Kohfukuji and Unkei: Particularly on the Statues at the Hokuendo (North Octagonal Hall)

Heiseikan-Auditorium
October 1, 2017 (Sun) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Compilation of Japanese Art History in the Meiji Period

Honkan-Room 15
October 3, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Ink Landscape Paintings of the Medieval Era

Honkan-B1 Education Room
October 13, 2017 (Fri) 18:30 - 19:00  
   

Japanese Armor

Heiseikan-Auditorium
October 21, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Before Unkei: Buddhist Sculptures of the Late Heian Period

Heiseikan-Auditorium
October 31, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Gallery Talk

Honkan-B1 Education Room
November 3, 2017 (Fri) 12:00 - 12:30  
   

Yamato-e Paintings of the Muromachi Period

Heiseikan-Auditorium
November 4, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00  
   

Experience Japanese Culture: Try on a Kimono

Honkan-Room T4
October 24, 2017 (Tue) - November 5, 2017 (Sun) Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and November 3: 11:00–16:30
Fridays(except November 3) and Saturdays: 15:00–20:30
   

Choe Chung-heon, Hero of Goryeo

Toyokan-Room 10
November 14, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Birth of Art History Studies in Japan

Heiseikan-Auditorium
November 17, 2017 (Fri) - November 18, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 17:00  
   

Masterpieces Masterpieces of Chinese Calligraphy and Painting: Appreciation in Japan

Toyokan-Room 8
November 28, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

Experience Japanese Culture: Calligraphy Workshop

Honkan-Lounge (2F)
November 7, 2017 (Tue) - November 30, 2017 (Thu) Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays: 11:00–16:30
Fridays and Saturdays: 15:00–20:30
   

Jomon Pottery Vessels and their Travels

Heiseikan-Japanese Archaeological Gallery
December 5, 2017 (Tue) 14:00 - 14:30  
   

The Food Culture of Edo

Heiseikan-Auditorium
December 9, 2017 (Sat) 13:30 - 15:00